What happens if I don’t show up for jury duty?

Jurors may be summonsed to appear in court to show cause for failure to appear for jury service.  According to Virginia Code §8.01-356, any juror given due notice to appear in court and fails to do so without sufficient excuse, may be fined not less than $50.00 nor more than $200.00

Show All Answers

1. How many jurors per term are called?
2. How many terms?
3. How long are terms?
4. How many times can I be called during my term?
5. What is my jury panel?
6. What is my juror number?
7. How do I know what dates I need to appear are?
8. How do I check to see if my date is canceled?
9. What time do I show up for jury duty?
10. What happens when I arrive for jury duty?
11. What happens if I don’t show up for jury duty?
12. What if I move out of the county/state?
13. What if I have a vacation or out of town engagement during my term of service?
14. What criteria would exempt me from jury service?
15. What if I have a reason to be excused that is not listed in Virginia Code §8.01-341?